A Blog About Blogs

An undergraduate thesis about blogging, public relations, marketing and social media

Pepsi: cute idea, terrible redesign October 31, 2008

Filed under: Blogs,Marketing and Advertising,Public Relations,Social Media — Stephanie Sheppard @ 4:29 am
Tags: , , ,

Peter Shankman, well-known blogger and social media guru who I’ve blogged about before, revealed on his blogthat he was recently included in Pepsi’s marketing efforts to unveil their redesign. Shankman was one of 25 people who received Pepsi cans on their doorsteps showing the progression of Pepsi logos and can designs.

At first I was impressed with this tactic – they sought out social media influencers and creatively and selectively pitched the new look. But no matter how wowed I was with the public relations move, I was completely underwhelmed when I saw the photo:

New Pepsi Design

New Pepsi Design

 The new look is terrible! I’m not sure if they were going for a “throw-back” look or what, but it reminds me of generic brand soda that you’d buy at Fresh ‘n Easy. Don’t get me wrong… I love Fresh ‘n Easy, but I assume people buy Pepsi over generic for the brand name, not necessarily the taste.

More importantly… why mess with something if it isn’t broken? Isn’t Pepsi the number one selling cola?

 

One Response to “Pepsi: cute idea, terrible redesign”

  1. jordanreed Says:

    I couldn’t agree more that the can looks generic, like a 3rd party knock-off or something. And the logo redesign is just plain weird.


Leave a Reply

